top of page

3 Quirky Ways to Become a More Grateful Person


Last winter, when I called my mom to tell her Roman had an ear infection, I had no idea she would share a story that still sparks gratitude in me today.

Here it is, courtesy of my mom, who was born in 1933: “When we got sick as kids, we didn’t have any kind of pills or aspirin. Maybe they did in the big city, but out in the country, you couldn’t get medicine unless you went to the doctor.

“I remember when I had ear infections, my mother would heat goose grease in a teaspoon over a match and pour it in my ear, then cover it with cotton so the grease wouldn’t run out.

“She would save the grease in a jar from whenever she’d cook a goose, then use it for lots of things – including as a pain reliever. And it worked!”

As I hung up the phone, all I could think of was how grateful I was for modern medicine, easy access to medical care, and a kitchen void of jarred goose grease.

The story made me wonder what else I take for granted. How often do I complain, dwell on the negative or focus on what I’m lacking rather than feeling thankful? How often is the concept of “turning what I already have into enough” a reality?

To answer these questions, I started experimenting with different ways to practice gratitude. Some didn’t go as planned (who knew Kevin wouldn’t love being nagged into joining some of my exercises??), but others did, and I actually felt more grateful as a result.

Here are my top three tips. Try them out for yourself and hopefully they’ll have the same effect in your life!

1. Pinpoint what makes you feel ungrateful

Mark Twain said, "Comparison is the death of joy" – and, in my opinion, it’s also the birth of ingratitude.

With a little thought, most of us can discern what triggers our negativity, judgement or disappointment. For some, social media will be a chief offender (I’ve heard Facebook referred to as “social comparison on steroids”), planting seeds of discontent. A quick scroll through that newsfeed can become a discouraging reminder of so-and-so’s better job, bigger house, nicer vacation, etc.

Maybe flipping through magazines leaves you feeling your wardrobe/body/décor don’t measure up. Maybe a friend or co-worker brings out a more negative, grouchy side of your personality.

Whatever your triggers, how can you move toward more sources of encouragement, positivity, and ultimately gratitude?

2. A Post-it a day keeps the grumbles away

I was on a typical, pre-guest cleaning spree when I entered my daughter’s bedroom and saw something out of the corner of my eye: numerous crumpled pieces of paper haphazardly taped to the wall. Admittedly, my first reaction was frustration (I’m a paper discarder, she’s a paper saver) – until I took a closer look.

The pieces of paper were actually napkins I had stuck in Eavie’s lunch, each adorned with a hand-written note (“You’re my favorite gal!” “I ♥ my first grader!”) and drawings or stickers. She had saved every single one, and here they were, affixed to the wall with masking tape.

There’s something about writing loved ones little notes that gets the gratitude juices flowing – for both giver and receiver.

I find when I’m jotting a note to Kevin – even to thank him for changing a lightbulb or putting gas in my car – I’m completely focused on how grateful I am for who he is and all he does for us. And I’ve got to say, when I open my laptop in the morning to see a sweet note waiting for me in Kevin’s handwriting, it’s a pretty super start to the day.

A couple of packs of Post-its and a minute here and there throughout the week can truly nurture grateful hearts and loving relationships.

3. Ask senior citizens about the joys and challenges of their childhoods

If I’m ever tempted to grumble about cold weather, all it takes is a quick thought of my mom growing up without electricity (a potbellied stove heated the house) to incite gratitude.

If I’m feeling discontent about the aging linoleum floor in our bathroom, I remember my mom’s description of their outhouse: “It was a long bench with three holes – a Papa hole, Mama hole and Baby hole, so we wouldn’t fall in when we were little.” This changes my attitude in seconds flat, as does talk of using the Sears Roebuck catalog as toilet paper.

Learning about past worries (polio), inconveniences (Wisconsin winter + outhouse) and realities (hot goose grease) prompt all kinds of thankful thoughts.

To be sure, history holds special memories and a sense of simplicity we can only strive for. But hearing about it makes me thankful for so much today – especially my Charmin.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page