top of page

9 Christmas Sweets That’ll Knock Your Socks Off

“Holy cow -- I left for 10 minutes, come back home and there’s cookies!” That’s what my husband said when he walked in just now. He’s used to it. If, at 6:45 p.m., I see a dessert recipe that takes my breath away, I'll be taking my first bite by 7:45.

Some people are passionate about sports or music or politics. I am passionate about sweets, both making them and eating them. There’s something about combining a little of this and a little of that, stirring it into a wet, sloppy mess, then within an hour – voila! It’s a cake! Miracle of miracles!

Here’s the other thing: People love when you give them sweets. They do. Early on, I noticed the heartwarming effect when my mom shared her famous Rice Krispie treats and killer brownies. There's a saying, “Baking is love made edible” and I've seen it played out over and over again – especially at Christmastime.

Christmas treats hold a special place in my heart and, not to sound bossy, but they should in yours too. Once a year, all forms of sugar invade our homes: peanut brittle, caramels, gingerbread, divinity, toffee, the list goes on. I get a little teary just thinking about it!

With that, here’s a rundown of my all-time favorite Christmas treats. These recipes aren’t fussy, complicated, elaborate or difficult. But they are mouth-watering, fun to make, and too amazing not to share. You’ll thank me later – maybe even within the hour.

Growing up, my friend Ann’s mom made this fudge and all these years later, I e-mailed asking for the recipe. Is it sad that I had an adrenaline rush when I saw it waiting in my inbox? This fudge is deceivingly quick and simple, makes a HUGE amount (to share – remember how people love it when you share?) and is out-of-this-world delicious.

Early in our marriage, I made a family cookbook featuring recipes from Kevin’s side and my side. Kevin’s mom included this cookie that’s not only her favorite, but was her dad’s favorite as well. I’m a sucker for recipes passed down through the generations and these crinkles do not disappoint! Now excuse me while I go eat one or two or a dozen (this is what I was baking when Kevin arrived home earlier).

I have a weakness for anything minty at Christmastime, and this treat has a perfect hint of mint without being overpoweringly minty, ya know what I mean? When a brownie and a cookie meet, fall in love, and get married, this is the blissful result -- with a kiss to seal the deal.

4. My Mom’s Christmas Cut-Out Cookies (hands-down the best!)

My mom is the queen of desserts. Remember her famous Rice Krispie treats mentioned above? I can watch how she makes them, buy the exact same ingredients, follow her directions to a T – and mine won’t taste as good. She has a gift. This recipe was also included in our family cookbook, and here’s what my mom said about it:

“This was the recipe Grandma Johnson used every Christmas. Since she didn’t have cookie cutters, she used her own free-hand designs that she cut from a waxed butter box, then traced around each with a paring knife. Santas, reindeer, stockings, stars, churches – she did it all by hand and then frosted and decorated them. My brothers and sisters and I had to admire the cookies for a long time before actually eating them!”

How did I not discover these little beauties until this year? My new friend Mindy brought them to a cookie exchange I attended last weekend and they won first place. I’m usually not one for ranking my favorite baked goods – it feels a little like ranking my children – but I’ve got to admit: This cookie is a total triumph.

My poor children know they’d better hand over their peanut butter cups as soon as they sort their trick-or-treat candy. And, simply put, this cookie ups the ante. I had one for the first time last year courtesy of my next-door neighbor Sarah. All I have to say is this: Put your coat on immediately, go buy a bag of mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, and make a batch tonight.

I know what you’re thinking: Chex Mix isn’t sweet – it’s salty! I got a little worked up about that too, until I tried some of this concoction at my friend Becky’s Christmas party last year and my life was changed forever. Yours will be too. Trust me.

Oh my, oh my, oh my. First of all, these little treats are about the most delicious things you’ll ever eat. Second, they’re about the easiest things you’ll ever make. Third, if you have any kids in your life, they can make them for you while you go busy yourself with important holiday-related duties, like drinking coffee and opening Christmas cards. Perfection.

I found this recipe when we lived in California and ended up making hundreds of them, filling cellophane bags with a dozen or so, and passing them out to everyone we knew. Can you tell I'm a little obsessed??

How can something so simple be so over-the-top scrumptious?? I had these truffles for the first time when we lived in Iowa years ago and still have the recipe saved in an e-mail (from Carissa Le -- member me???). These little bites will change your life -- but that's not the end of the story . . .

A couple of weeks ago, my daughter's teacher from 4K just about blew my mind when she said she made these using Mint Oreos. Prepare yourself to be absolutely wowed -- and then make these bonbons and set a few aside for the next time we get together!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page